First impressions: Derby Motoreta’s Burrito Kachimba, Bolsa amarilla y piedra potente, with La fuente (2024).

Hilo negro, the previous work of Derby Motoreta’s Burrito Kachimba from 2021, reconciled me with Spanish rock, in my long ‘it’s not you, it must be me’. A question of traditions, sensitivities, of what is foregrounded by the media, of what moves festivals, I don’t know… Whatever the case, I couldn’t be happier to have found this overwhelming fusion of Andalusian rock and prog, tribal sounds and psychedelia. It worked wonderfully for Hilo negro and it works wonderfully in Bolsa amarilla y piedra potente (I promised myself I would find out the meaning for the title before closing the post). Instrumental skill, freedom, compositional maturity, freshness, sensitivity and a disarming self-confidence and humour, particularly in his lyrics. I wrote, in my review of Hilo negro about those «expressive vocals, guitars, visual imagery, poetry, dark lyrics, atmosphere, Arabic touches» and it is still relevant here. DMBK relentlessly throw at us powerful, surreal, impenetrable images that are superimposed with other purely lysergic and hallucinatory ones. DMBC throws these images at us relentlessly, with a mirror oriented towards King Lizard and the Lizard Wizard, but in a more restrained and methodical way. Perhaps the most notable thing about BAPP is seeing how DBMK solidify their own sound, their personality beyond references (that synth-rock beginning of Manguara that seems to come out of Stranger Things), in a technically perfect recording full of intense moments, brilliant and stimulating.

My favorite songs, so far: Six Pistons, El chinche, La Fuente, the atmospheric Manguara, Gun-Gun, the incendiary and hallucinatory Pétalos and Manteca,

I leave you the video of La Fuente, one of the most brilliant songs in Bolsa Amarilla Piedra Potente, with clearer blues influences and in which they claim to be a band made for the stage. Don’t miss them.

PS: I still don’t know what ‘Yellow Bag and Powerful Stone’ means, although deep down, it is just another cascade of images and each one of us will give their own meaning. Or not.

Oh, and another postscript… Guys, thanks for thinking this album as a vinyl, it gives it a very cool touch, especially at the end. Love.

Deja un comentario

Web construida con WordPress.com.

Subir ↑